August 23, 2019
On September 1, 2019, Texas Tobacco 21, the law that raises the minimum legal sales age for tobacco from 18 years to 21 years, officially went into effect. The law includes violations for purchasing or attempting to purchase cigarettes, e-cigarettes, or tobacco products, as well as the use or possession of these products.
Smoking is the leading cause of preventable death in the U.S. Delaying the age when young people first begin using tobacco helps reduce the risk of becoming addicted. About 95 percent of all adults smokers started before the age of 21.
A Smoke Free Paso del Norte is offering education and awareness presentations on the changes to the law throughout the fall. #TXTobacco21
To schedule a presentation or for more information please call (915) 730-3805.
Back to News
New Mexico dental students receive an opportunity to study at the Hunt School of Dental Medicine in El Paso
October 20, 2021
Two future New Mexico dental students will have something to smile about, thanks to the New Mexico Higher Education Department (NMHED). The state agency is stepping up to help with tuition costs for New Mexico residents attending Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso’s Hunt School of Dental Medicine…